IT Maturity Model – Why Should a Company Undertake ITIL Assessment Process

ITIL Assessment

ITIL Assessments are common mechanisms to measure the maturity of ITIL processes within an organization. There is no official standard or universally-adopted assessment. Rather, different entities have created their own assessment models. These assessments utilize a questionnaire to create a baseline and measure incremental improvements. In addition, it is vital to gain agreement and document the desired state. The ITIL assessment outputs create a roadmap. If we know where we are starting, desired end state, and a process for measuring progress, it is much easier for executive leadership to gain funding and support for an ITIL/ITSM (IT Service Management) organization and its initiatives to execute the roadmap.

Maturity Assessment

Download ITIL Templates and Documents for ITSM

ITIL Maturity Model

IT Maturity Model

Most ITIL assessments are based on the CMMI (Capability Maturity Model Integration) model. The CMMI model has five levels:

CMMI Maturity Levels

  • Maturity Level 1 – Initial – There is no documented and adhered to process. Many organizations will baseline their maturity at Level 1 as they begin their process-maturity journey.
  • Maturity Level 2 – Managed – Processes are established, and the work is loosely managed, just not executed in a standardized, repeatable manner.
  • Maturity Level 3 – Defined – Process inputs and outputs are defined, training established, metrics established, the level of risk is understood, and processes are audited.
  • Maturity Level 4 – Quantitatively Managed – As an organization moves toward Level 4, decisions are based on quantifiable data. Leadership leverages process KPIs (Key Performance Indicators) and CSFs (Critical Success Factors) to evaluate the health of a process. Also, these same metrics may be established for projects and programs.
  • Maturity Level 5 – Optimizing – Once we move toward Level 5, we are making great data-based decisions and need to re-focus the direction from process execution to optimization of the process for future iterations. This could include automation and integration with non-IT processes and multiple toolsets. The goal is optimizing against a greater goal.

Incident Management Process Maturity

Download ITIL Templates and Documents for ITSM

ITIL Maturity Model, Incident management process Maturity

ITIL Incident Management Process Maturity

Most ITIL Assessments will evaluate the ITIL process to see where they rate against the five levels above. If we think back to ITIL basics, each process has “process activities” which are used to carry out a given process. The maturity of an entire process may be broken down into the process activity subcategories. For example, most organizations use a basic Incident Management process (or practice in ITIL4) with the following activities:

  • Identification – Identifying a Configuration Item (CI) is – or soon will be – down.
  • Logging – Logging the Incident into an ITSM tool.
  • Classification – Classifying the Incident using predefined classes.
  • Prioritization – Assessing a priority for the Incident using the Priority Matrix.
  • Initial Diagnosis – Do we have a quick diagnosis?
  • Escalation – Escalating the Incident in one of two ways (Functional and Hierarchical).
  • Investigation and Diagnosis – Investigating what is really down and how to resolve the Incident. At times, one small CI is reported down and an Incident raised only to find out that it is dependent on a larger CI, also down.
  • Resolution and Recovery – The goal of the Incident Management process is to resolve the Incident as quickly as possible.
  • Closure – Closing the Incident in the ITSM tool. This needs to happen as soon as a workaround is established, and the users are no longer impacted.

How Does ITIL Assessment Process Helps

If we measure the standardized outcomes of each process activity through the consistent usage of a questionnaire, we will soon find out which ones the organization performs better – or worse – than expected. For example, most organizations do well in all but two or three process activities: Logging, Classification, and Prioritization. If the ITIL Assessment illustrates a weakness in logging Incidents, it will show that members of IT see a CI down or offline and put the fix in without logging an Incident or recording a Change. If the deficient area if classification, training may be required to help future Incident classification. If prioritization is the low area, the priority matrix may need to be re-evaluated, training developed and delivered, or increased leadership support. The latter occurs if Incidents are de-prioritized to manipulate the metrics.

Most organizations are content to remain in a good – not great – state because the law of diminishing returns begins for most organizations once Level 3 has been eclipsed. The cost to move to 3.5 is much more expensive than the move from 2.5 to 3.0. This is where initially gaining agreement on the desired state is vital. There needs to be agreement on what “good enough” and “excellence” look like. If a process is at a 3.5 level, most of the process activities may be very high and the assessment allows the identification of pain points and logging them in the CSI Register for execution.

ITIL assessments are valuable to most organizations to evaluate progress against the roadmap, identify areas that are obstacles to success, and to establish a mechanism to measure improvement. Many times, Continual Service Improvement (CSI) will be used in connection with these assessments. The areas which need to be addressed are executed in CSI. Measurements and metrics will be utilized to evaluate progress against the goal.

Undergoing an ITIL assessment is not something an organization should do just once. The benefit of tracking success against a goal is not attained if the assessment is not performed at regular intervals, usually annually. The ability to chart progress against the roadmap, moving toward the desired end state, is a powerful tool for executive leadership to show success.

Posted in: ITIL

Comments (No Responses )

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply