ITIL® 4 Foundation

by Kishan Tambralli

ITIL v4 is a framework for IT service management, and it's the latest version of the IT Infrastructure Library. This framework has been designed to provide a solid framework for managing any infrastructure, not just information technology infrastructure. It's designed to help businesses improve their operations and gain a competitive advantage in an increasingly digital marketplace. By implementing ITIL v4 across your organization, you can become more agile and flexible while improving efficiency. The ITIL 4 Foundation certificate provides an introductory level of knowledge on the principles of IT Service Management. The certification is designed to provide a sound understanding of how organizations can align their business and IT services with the needs of their customers, delivering value for both.

Learn More About The Course>>

What is ITIL?

ITIL stands for Information Technology Infrastructure Library. ITIL is a set of standards that help ensure the smooth running and continual improvement of an organization's information technology services. It covers everything from strategy, design, operation, management, and even service delivery.
The goal of these standards is to make sure that companies have consistent practices in place to be more efficient when implementing new technology or responding to emergencies.

Service Management Stakeholders:

Service management is managing the performance of services to meet customer expectations. Service management can be seen as an essential part of quality assurance by ensuring that all aspects of service delivery are managed appropriately.   

The stakeholders of service management are the people who have a vested interest in the performance and effectiveness of services. Here are a few examples of service management stakeholders:

Examples of Service Management Stakeholders

Learn More About The Course>>

  • Organizations: Organizations are either legal entities or institutions. These entities have resources, budgets, projects. There are service provider stakeholders divided into groups or teams within an organization.
  • Customers or clients: They are the ones who buy products or receive the services from the service provider.
  • Users: Users are the stakeholders who utilize the services regularly.
  • Suppliers: They are the ones who supply the goods and services that help to deliver IT services. Network and software vendors, network, telecommunication service providers, third-party organizations.
  • Internal and external customers: All the customers are not the same. Some might be internal as well as external. Internal customers are the service providers who work in the same organization. On the other hand, external customers are not employed by the organization but take services from the service provider as per their bonded contract or agreement.

What is the itil4 certification exam?

The ITIL 4 Foundation Exam is a certification exam that certifies the knowledge of IT Service Management Professionals. The exam tests candidates to understand and interpret service management concepts, terminology, models, and processes. It also assesses their ability to apply this knowledge practically by answering questions from different scenarios. The exam consists of 40 questions with a time limit of 60 minutes. You need to score at least 65% (26 questions) to earn the certification.

ITIL Exam Tips:

ITIL Exam Tips

Learn More About The Course>>

  • Practice: There is no substitute to practice while preparing for your first test. One of the most crucial steps is to familiarize yourself with the exam pattern. Then you can practice the sample questions to get an idea of the format of questions asked during the exam. While practicing ITIL mock tests, make sure you adhere to time constraints to increase your speed and complete the exam on time.
  • Understand the Material: Many candidates mistake misunderstanding the questions even after preparation, which will result in submitting the wrong answer. Questions may contain negative markings, which eat up your score when answered wrong.
  • Keep your Basics Right: The intermediate level of ITIL goes more in-depth into capacity and lifecycle modules; your basic understanding needs to be strong at the foundation level. ITIL 4 foundation training is all about keeping your basics right and understanding each stage of lifecycle and capacity modules.
  • Think ITIL: People from different backgrounds answer the questions based on their experiences which may backfire during the exam. When taking the ITIL exams, your answers should not be beyond the topics you have prepared. You need to think only about ITIL processes and practices and not what you have implemented in your previous organization.

ITIL 4 Certification Scheme:

The ITIL 4 certification scheme is a new program that allows you to have an internationally recognized qualification in IT Service Management. Axelos have developed it, the owners of the ITIL brand, and they have designed this certification for those who want to progress their careers into management-level positions.

ITIL 4 Certification Scheme

  • ITIL Foundation: The ITIL 4 Foundation course will help you understand ITIL's methodology and approach to service management. You'll learn about the five phases of a service lifecycle, including initial strategy, design delivery, and operation, as well as continual improvement. The course is designed for those with little or no experience in Information Technology Service Management (ITSM).
  • ITIL Managing Professional: ITIL Managing Professional is the designation of an individual who has gained competence in all six areas of IT service management; namely, it includes people with skills in strategy, design, transition and implementation, operation, and evaluation. The certification is intended to be a rigorous examination of knowledge on how to provide consistent, high-quality IT services. Once you achieve this designation, you can complete the ITIL strategic leader module.
  • ITIL Strategic Leader: ITIL Strategic Leaders are the people who understand the strategic planning, management, and execution of an IT service. They define an organization's vision for its IT services portfolio in terms of both business objectives and technology capabilities. This module requires three years of managerial experience and an ITIL foundation certification competition.

Learn More About The Course>>